Intraocular Implant and Refractive Society of India (IIRSI) 2017

Soosan Jacob

Posted: Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Fig (7)

The annual conference of the Intraocular Implant and Refractive Society of India (IIRSI) 2017 was held on 8th and 9th of July at the ITC Grand Chola Hotel, Chennai. More than 3,000 Indian and international ophthalmologists assembled at the meeting.
The conference was inaugurated by the Honorable Minister for Health and Family Welfare, Dr. K. Vijay Bhaskar and the Guest of Honour was Mr. K. Vijay Kumar, IPS famous for his role in shooting dead the notorious forest bandit Veerappan. Dr. Susan MacDonald, from the Tufts School of Medicine was given the Distinguished Honor award for becoming President of Women in Ophthalmology. Dr. Elizabeth Yeu from Virginia Eye Consultants and Dr Kendall Donaldson from the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute were amongst others honoured with the Special IIRSI Gold medal by the minister.
Foreign faculty also included Drs Elizabeth Yeu, Kendall Donaldson, Michael Patterson, Mitchell Jackson, Mark Kontos, Arun Gulani, Maria Soledad Romero, Roberto Zaldivar, Roger Zaldivar, Roberto Pineda, Sean Ianchulev, Shady Awwad, William Wiley, Alain Saad, Jose Luis Bulacio and Andreas Borkenstein.
Various topics of interest were discussed including premium IOL’s, management of complicated cataract, capsular dehiscence, loose zonules, corneal biomechanics, Brillouin optical microscopy, corneal inlays for presbyopic correction, endothelial keratoplasty etc.
The Eye Tech ophthalmology session had speakers talking on various new innovations. Dr Soosan Jacob spoke on her innovative techniques of using allogenic corneal tissue: CAIRS (Corneal Allogenic Intrastromal Ring Segments) for keratoconus and PEARL (PrEsbyopic Allogenic Refractive Lenticule) as a presbyopic allogenic corneal inlay as well as discussed the various advantages that these had over the currently available synthetic inlays. Other innovations discussed were double infusion cannula technique (DICT) and single pass four throw pupilloplasty (SFT) in PDEK by Dr. Sumathi A, trocar anterior chamber maintainer by Dr Minu Mathen, tracking of pseudophacodonesis using Purkinje images by Dr Dhivya Ashok and an innovative software for autoperimetry utilizing a headmounted autoperimeter based on virtual reality by Mr Vamsi Chintalapati.
Live surgical demonstration of PreDescemet’s endothelial keratoplasty with SFT and Glued IOL was given by Professor Amar Agarwal to a jam packed hall.
The Ophthalmic Premier League stunned, taught and entertained a huge audience that filled Halls A and B. Four teams of Ophthalmologists dressed as kings, magicians, clowns and even wonderwoman (Susan McDonald) shared fascinating scientific videos with a great mix of music, fun and team spirit. Best entertainer Dr Mohan Rajan won the hearts of the audience by mixing science with GST (the revolutionary Goods and Services Tax that the Government of India recently launched).
Another highlight that included both fun and science was the Court Martial session which had ophthalmologists presenting complicated surgical videos in the form of a courtroom drama with judges, jury members and attorneys. Surgeons on trial were defended by Dr Chitra Ramamurthy from the public prosecutor, Dr Partha Biswas. Acquitted surgeons received a garland whereas those found ‘guilty’ were sentenced to hanging with a noose. The arguments and the defence presented to the jury by the ophthalmologists ‘on trial’ and their advocates were truly eye opening.
The Women Ophthalmologists Society (WOS) – Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry chapter was launched by a team comprising Drs. Ekta Rishi, Soosan Jacob, Shikha Bassi, Geetha Iyer, Chitra Ramamurthy and Renuka Srinivasan. The session was graced by Drs. Susan Macdonald, Elizabeth Yeu, Sean Ianchulev, Mohita Sharma, Parul Sharma and Samina Faiyaz. Aims of WOS to bring down gender disparity, offer a platform for young women Ophthalmologists and be a forum for fostering a mentor-mentee relationship were discussed.
The Dare To Bare session chaired by Dr. Surya Gupta focused on identifying complications or signs of an impending complication as key for successful surgery. Eleven surgeons presented surgical videos on surprising events and disasters they faced during surgery and their management of the same.
Finally, 75 videos on cataract surgery and complications, cornea refractive surgeries, new innovations and other specialties were enrolled for the Film Festival awards. The winners were Drs. Sheetal Mahuvakar, Nikhil Kandurwar, Dhivya Ashok Kumar, Viraj Vasavada and Rengaraj Venkatesh. Grand prize was given to Dr Sheeta Madhuvakar. Ophthalmic and non-ophthalmic photographs as well as posters were also awarded prizes. Dr Rohit Sreenath received the gold medal for Best Poster.


Latest Articles

escrs members advert